No matter what happens in the future, this happened in the past.

No matter what happens in the future, this happened in the past.”

That thought entered my head Wednesday afternoon as I snapped these photos of my little guy.

20121018-221732.jpg
The past few weeks, concern and anxiety have weighed heavily on my heart. I’ve found myself anxious about work, about the immense time I spend away from Zavier every day now that I’m back to teaching full time, about finances, about the future, and even about mortality – my own and that of those I love – as news of the death of a high school friend {a 28-year-old wife and mother, just like me} hit me hard this week.

So I’ve found myself feeling pretty anxious about what the future holds.

But yesterday, the anxiety in my heart melted away as I roamed a little pumpkin farm with my favorite little person on the planet.

20121018-221740.jpg

20121018-221748.jpg

20121018-221756.jpg

20121018-221813.jpg

20121018-221845.jpg

20121018-222004.jpg

20121018-222026.jpg

20121018-222056.jpg

20121018-222104.jpg

20121018-222116.jpg

20121018-222144.jpg
I ended up with an unexpected, but very welcome, day off from work and was *so* excited to have a whole day with Zavier. Since he walks around singing “E-I-E-I-Ohhhhhh!” {Old McDonald Had a Farm} almost constantly these days, I took him back to the pumpkin farm – and as I watched him smile and laugh and play, I felt a deep peace wash over me. I realized {or rather, was reminded} that while it’s a little scary that the future is uncertain, and that I can’t do anything about it, what I can do is enjoy the sweetness and beauty of the present. No matter what the future brings, the past has already brought me amazing moments like this one – and thanks to cameras and this little blog of mine, I get to dwell on the beauty of them rather than the uncertainty of the future.

It seems like every day I have a new reason to be grateful for Zavier. Today, it’s because he quieted the fear in my heart and turned it into sweet, perfect peace. He – and the gift of motherhood – has been such a blessing to me.

6 thoughts on “No matter what happens in the future, this happened in the past.

  1. awwww, so glad u better now.. the future really does baffles us, but keep enjoying today i guarantee you its worth it! Zavier looks so happy!!!

  2. And how wonderful that you have this amazing blog, beautiful pictures, and wonderful memories to help love, and live in, this present moment. I live overseas and I am totally missing being able to enjoy the goodies of Fall in America — the farms, pumpkin patches, etc. Thanks for a vicarious peek!

    Praying that His peace remain with you always!

  3. You have such a way with words..just beautiful. As a new parent I’m constantly freaking out about something but it is important to be present in the moment and just live and enjoy my family. Sorry about your friend and the pictures of Z are just too adorable!

What do you think?